Skip to main content

Statement on Affordable Housing

For immediate release:

The Assemblymembers listed below today issued the following statement on the effort to address California’s housing affordability crisis:

“Today’s affordable housing commitment by Governor Brown, Speaker Rendon, and Senate President pro Tempore de León is welcome news for all Californians who are suffering from crushing rents and unreachable home prices. We’ve worked hard to get to the agreement outlined today, and we look forward to working together to pass a comprehensive housing package when we return from recess in late August. As the leaders outlined, this comprehensive set of bills will include a permanent source of funding for affordable housing, a general obligation housing bond, and crucial policy reforms to streamline housing production where appropriate.

Housing is a critical human need.  We’ve said all year we must act to alleviate the housing crisis in our state, and we are now poised to do just that.”


Assemblymember David Chiu (D-San Francisco)

Assemblymember Richard Bloom (D-Santa Monica)

Assemblymember Rob Bonta (D-Oakland)

Assemblymember Marc Berman (D-Menlo Park)

Assemblymember Raul Bocanegra (D-San Fernando)

Assemblymember Anna Caballero (D-Salinas)

Assemblymember Ed Chau (D-Arcadia)

Assemblymember Kansen Chu (D-San Jose)

Assemblymember Matthew Dababneh (D-Encino)

Assemblymember Jim Frazier (D-Discovery Bay)

Assemblymember Laura Friedman (D-Glendale)

Assemblymember Cristina Garcia (D-Bell Gardens)

Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella)

Assemblymember Mike Gipson (D-Carson)

Assemblymember Todd Gloria (D-San Diego)

Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher (D-San Diego)

Assemblymember Chris Holden (D-Pasadena)

Assemblymember Reggie Jones-Sawyer (D-Los Angeles)

Assemblymember Ash Kalra (D-San Jose)

Assemblymember Kevin McCarty (D-Sacramento)

Assemblymember Kevin Mullin (D-South San Francisco)

Assemblymember Adrin Nazarian (D-Sherman Oaks)

Assemblymember Bill Quirk (D-Hayward)

Assemblymember Eloise Gómez Reyes (D-San Bernardino)

Assemblymember Miguel Santiago (D-Los Angeles)

Assemblymember Mark Stone (D-Scotts Valley)

Assemblymember Tony Thurmond (D-Richmond)

Assemblymember Phil Ting (D-San Francisco)